“The greatest gift you can give the world is a peaceful mind.”
my meditation teacher Swami Veda

December 1st 2015 was the first day of my offering free daily online practice. We have now developed into a close-knit community of “regulars” who love this part of our day.

In the twenty five years I’ve been meditating and the twenty years I’ve been teaching, I’ve come to deeply know my mind. The content of our thoughts and memories is unique but the way our minds work is more similar than different.

Meditation and relaxation practices are a way of clearing out stress, tension, fear and anxiety. A regular practice is necessary to clear out the accumulated effect of daily life. As the dust settles, we know ourselves more deeply. Just as tension builds up over time, it takes time for our system to fully let it go. When our mind is off and running the second we’re not distracted by our busy lives, it’s natural to avoid time in silence. Guided and group practice is an easy way to do this.

To celebrate 3 years of continuous daily practice, we’re joining together for a full day Saturday December 1st.

We begin at 5AM Eastern and go to 10PM Eastern. If you’re on the west coast of North America, that’s the middle of the night. I expect you might join us a bit later. 10PM Eastern is the middle of the night in Europe and morning in India. Please feel free to participate in a way that works for your time zone and for you.

The detailed schedule is here. We’ll begin with gentle meditative yoga then into deep relaxation. We’ll have times for meditative walking. Silence. Breathing. We meet for 45 minutes beginning on the hour with a 15 minute break between sessions. You are welcome to keep silence part of the day or the entire time.

Preparation for Silence

Give yourself a gift of a few hours or a full day of practice before the busy holiday season gets in full swing. There is no fee for participating. If you wish you make a contribution, you can do that here. Thank you!

We’re using our regular Zoom link. http://zoom.us/j/645904638

With multiple time zones, we begin at 2AM Pacific, 5AM Eastern and 10AM UK and finish at 7PM Pacific, 10PM Eastern and 3AM UK. Check your local times here. https://www.worldtimebuddy.com/

We will publish the recordings privately on YouTube as soon as possible after we finish sessions. You can find the 2017 Silence Retreat recordings and 2018 here as we update the page, and on YouTube in this Playlist.

This was day 1 December 1st 2015!