The six negative emotions are:

        kama – desire is the root cause of the other five negative emotions

        krodha –  anger or hatred

        lobha – greed

        moha – delusion

        mada – frenzy

        matsarya –  jealousy

The six negative emotions may arise when one of the four primitive urges or fountains are threatened. The four primitive urges are food, sex, sleep and self-preservation (including preservation of our ego and concept of ourselves).